Available for purchase! See Projects page for details >>
The Huck Book:
Swan Valley's Berried Stories, History and Recipes
AUG 1 –Film, Fiddlers and Fun!
5-8 PM @ the Museum
Leita Clothier Anderson and cousin, Dick Moore, on the bridge over Swan River at Salmon Prairie. 1939. Clothier Collection.
See the Events page for details and ticket information >>
Jim Creek Lookout. Built in 1916, this photo was taken in 1933. L to R: Orville Harmon, Art Anderson, Uno Strom, and unidentified. Art Anderson Collection.
Waterwheel at Lindbergh Lake. Pat Jewel. Jewel Collection. Date unknown.
The Upper Swan Valley Historical Society (USVHS), established in 1988, is dedicated to the discovery, collection, preservation and interpretation of materials that will help establish and illustrate our local history.
The upper Swan Valley area is unique in that it still retains a plethora of evidence of its varied history. There still exist old Indian trails crisscrossing our mountains. Old trapper cabins and marten notched trees are still around on the landscape. This area was homesteaded and settled at a relatively late date, primarily from the mid-1910's and later, with many artifacts and buildings of that particular era still in existence. Early Forest Service ranger station buildings and cabins are still here. Springboard notched trees and sawmill sites from the early logging days are scattered around the valley.
Photo of Swan Peak by Steve Ellis
Swan Valley Museum hours:
Memorial Day Weekend through Labor Day, THURS through SUN,
12 Noon to 4 PM, or by appointment. Call (406) 754-2745 or (406) 754-2238. Contact Us >>